diy solar

diy solar

Sizing DIY Batteries and Components for 10kW motor

wpduhe

I've never built anything electronic ever. But I have been doing some research and have a list of components I'd like someone to peer review to make sure I'm not going to waste what budget I have on components that won't do the job.

My goal is to repower my 12,000lbs sailboat with a 10kW motor (it should seldom experience that kind of output). The battery and BMS (planning on 48V) will be powering that motor, a 3000W inverter, and small 12VDC house loads using a 35A DC-DC converter; but never all of them simultaneously (typically 2 out of 3). My concerns are mostly around sizing a battery and BMS that can power the motor since it will be the largest load. According to the specifications on the website, the motor at 48VDC is rated at 21kW peak, and 8.6kW continuous. I don't expect to exceed 10kW, but I'm not an expert in this area. So based on the 8.6kW cont. rating, I guess I'm looking at ~179A potential continuous to the motor controller (I still don't think I'll be using that much power, maybe more like 60A - 100A, hopefully even less 50A?).

This is what I need to power (hopefully only to 50%):
The motor: ME1507 from electricmotorsport.com
Motor Link: https://www.electricmotorsport.com/...-sevcon-gen4-48v-450a-motor-drive-system.html

This is what I think will power it:
I'm planning on using these LiFePO4 cells as they seem to offer 280A discharge?: 16 x EVE LF280K all in series
Battery Cell Link: https://www.docanpower.com/index.ph...product_id=456&search=lf280k&description=true

I'm undecided on the BMS. I want it to be exceptionally reliable which is why I prefer to use Overkill 16s BMS, but they only offer a 100A model. Therefore, I'm considering, and expecting, to have to use a Daly (or some other) 200A BMS. (this is my biggest concern).

Hopefully, I'm not missing anything.

I appreciate the incoming education and advice. Thanks everyone!