diy solar

diy solar

Slowly built grid-tie system. First panel, expected results. Second panel, poor results. A little help, please?

KnightLune

So, as some background, I am COMPLETELY new to solar in general. So go easy with me. My only real best method of learning is diving right into things myself. I've been trying to keep up with reading and other methods of educating myself, including videos and whatnot, for the past six or seven months. To say I am a little green is an understatement. I am also poor as heck, so dropping money on anything "good" is a bit out of the question for me, though I'd eventually like to upgrade to better equipment. I've been looking for cheap as heck hardware on sale, mostly imported from China, and... yeah, I'm aware this sounds like a train wreck already.

That said, a couple of weeks ago, I decided to bite the bullet and buy a cheap ($40-ish, at the time) 100 watt panel that was on sale on Amazon. Specifically, a WEIZE 100 watt panel as detailed in the attached sticker image. With it, I got a 140 watt Y&H grid-tie micro inverter at another ~$40. Also displayed in the Attachments.

61JqU0JfBbS._AC_SX679_.jpg75d25d76-f6f7-4313-bf98-328b756778d0.png

I hooked up the two properly, and ran it directly to the wall to see that under peak hours I was getting roughly ~85 watts from it. This was acceptable for me, and I figured the performance was suffering slightly due to potential angle mismatch, plus the efficiency of the gear in question. Whether this is the case or not is up for debate. If it's hardware-related, please do let me know!

Cool. So, it worked. I was pretty excited since it was my first ever foray into doing something like this, period, and as simple as it may seem for some, was pretty difficult for me, but it worked. Woo!