diy solar

diy solar

Small campground setup

shannibalhector3

Hello, I'm new to solar and looking to setup a system to power a small campground that will include a community cabin and 3 RV campsites. My question is would it be better to build a large central system at the cabin and distribute power to the 3 RV sites from it OR build individual smaller systems at each site? I've attached a drawing with approximate distances from cabin to RV sites and specs of panels I'm thinking of buying. Thanks for any advice on setup and whether these panels will do the job.

Attachments

• 20211007_212534.jpg
    20211007_212534.jpg
    43.4 KB · Views: 20
  • Screenshot_20211007-212615_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20211007-212615_Facebook.jpg
    421.3 KB · Views: 19
What exactly do you wish to provide at each RV campsite? 12VDC or 110VAC (30A or 50A)?

Will this be completely off grid and powered by solar?

How do you want to handle 3 big RVs plugged in at the same time and using 3000W each all day and night?

How do you want to handle a week of crappy weather and little solar to recharge your batteries while the RVs crave more power?

How shaded is this area (at the cabin and at each site)?

Do you want each site to have just an outlet for the RV or do you want lots of equipment (inverter, charge controller, solar panels, etc.) at each site?

There are so many questions that need to be answered before you even think about narrowing down your choice of solar panels.

This will be a completely off grid communal living environment powered by solar and generators on a hilltop in eastern Tennessee. The cabin gets full sunlight, RV sites are shaded. The RVs will be using lights, small fans, laptops, mini fridges daily and small AC units during summer months. Cabin will have a full size refrigerator/freezer and fans running full time with Coffee maker and lights running when needed. Everyone is mindful of the need to conserve power.