diy solar

diy solar

Small electronics project – Complete newbie

Tundrawalker

Greetings everyone,

I have finally dug into learning about solar to recharge a 12v lead acid battery to power a DSLR camera for remote long term construction time-lapse photography.

Here is what I have:

- Canon DSLR which uses up to a 8.4v 2.1a LiPo battery which can run on for up to 5 hours
- a USB 5v 2a/4a dummy battery. It requires 2a (10w) to function
- a 12v to 5v DC converter which outputs 5v/3a to dual USB female sockets to power the dummy battery and 1 additional USB powered low draw device
- a 40w solar cell with an 8.5a charge controller.
- a 12v 7ah lead acid battery

Hooking the DC converter directly to a 12v 7a battery works just fine. Now I want to recharge the 12v battery with solar so that I don’t have to check on it as often to replace with a freshly charged battery.

My issues stem from proper wire gauge. I believe the wire gauge I need is between 18 and 16 awg. I previously melted wires that I believe were 22awg connected from the battery to various electronics during tests while the battery was hooked up to the 40w solar cell.

Looking at why my 22awg wire melted seems to be that it can only handle 0.92a

The 40w solar cell is pushing I believe 2a of power to the battery. (40w/20v)

I believe I need to go with 18awg @ 2.3a or even 16awg @ 3.7a wire. This is my main concern/question.

If the electronics down the line only require 1ah of power do I need to somehow scale down the load from 2a to 1a so that nothing gets fired? The pushing vs drawing of power in this scenario is confusing which is why I expect the proper gauge of wire is so important.

So now the math...

A 12v 7Ah lead acid I believe should yield roughly between 84w to 95w (13.6w x 7a)

Will that mean only about 42w of effective power due to the 50% rule?