diy solar

diy solar

Software based Breaker Panels/ Critical load Panels ?

illium

Designing a system currently and I have seen Smart panels and variants popping up all over the place. Span, Schneider, Sol-Ark etc.. I see the product claims of these panels being convenience, reducing install costs, and complexity among other things. I am not an engineer or electrician, but my questions are these: Reliability of the software controls themselves. Does it truly reduce costs at install. What would you see as the pros/cons of this newer tech vs standard breakers and load centers. I would appericate members feedback

Disclaimer: I have no experience with any of the smart load panels

I have been intrigued by these panels and have been following them.... but I would not use one at this time.

• Reliability:
    By definition, the smart panel is adding a lot of complex power circuitry into the system, therefore they are adding a significant number of possible points of failure. That is not saying they fail often... I am just saying it increases the possibility. Furthermore, these products have not been on the market very long so they do not have a track record.
  • Safety:
    What is the safety record of these? With power electronics, you have to worry about something burning up in a big way if it fails. I am not saying they are not safe, but I would wait a while to see what the track record is.
  • Repair
    If there is a failure in them, what is the fix? Even if it is in warranty, how hard is it to repair? Do you have to swap out the whole dang thing? Can components be swapped? If it is not in warranty, how expensive are the parts (Have you ever had to pay for a new computer board for an appliance or car.... typically it is a few hundred dollars for a little board.
  • Functionality: