diy solar

diy solar

Solar + MPPT + Battery Setup Check

Fluqz

Hey guys, I would really appreciate a bit of help here with my setup for my car. Im kinda new to this, got some knowledge here and there, but Im unsure about a few things.

Setup:
So I wanna use 2 Solarpanels which have 100Watts, 36V and 2.5A. I have a MPPT device which can handle 100V and 15A and says its for 12v or 24 systems. I wanna load a 12v Lithium LiFePo4 100Ah Battery.

So my questions are:
1. How does the MPPT loader decides if its for 12v or 24v system? Is there a switch? Or does it recognize the battery's voltage?
2. I was reading that the Battery should be charged with 5-50Amps. If I use a series connection with my two solarpanels I would only have 2.5A. Is that a problem? Should I go with a parallel connection?
3. Is there anything I could do better? I used higher voltage Solarpanels, because I heard this would help with loading, because if its in shadow and voltage drops below ~13v the MPPT device wont work anymore, which makes sense.
Im open for any recommendations

Really appreaciate your help!
Thanks

Hey guys, I would really appreciate a bit of help here with my setup for my car. Im kinda new to this, got some knowledge here and there, but Im unsure about a few things.

Setup:
So I wanna use 2 Solarpanels which have 100Watts, 36V and 2.5A. I have a MPPT device which can handle 100V and 15A and says its for 12v or 24 systems. I wanna load a 12v Lithium LiFePo4 100Ah Battery.
That controller is just barely adequate. Those panels are capable of ~200w which would be 200w / 12v = 17a. Realistically you should be fine but you'll never be able to add more panels to that.
So my questions are:
1. How does the MPPT loader decides if its for 12v or 24v system? Is there a switch? Or does it recognize the battery's voltage?