diy solar

diy solar

Solar Newbie Check ...

thetimbo

Newbie here, building a small off-grid backup housed in a outdoor shed. Will's book. Hours on the forums. A quick check would be much appreciated.

MPP solar 1012LV-MS 1kw 40a MPPT from Watts24/7

Two 100ah 12v LiFePO4 batteries wiring in parallel.

Four 100w panels each Voc 22.1V and Isc 5.86A, wiring 2s2p with standard 10g wire for a 15ft run at 44.2V

The 1012LV will be 2ft from the batteries.

My questions:

1. Watts24/7 included two sets of copper lugged welding wire with the batteries. A 2awg and a 4awg set, both 4ft long (8ft run?)
Which set should I use from bank to inverter? Maybe they're too long for my application anyway?

2. Should the short parallel battery jumpers be the same awg as my bank to inverter wire?

3. After the ?awg welding wire is chosen, what fuse rating is recommended to protect it?

4. I'd like to switch/break the panel array for servicing purposes. Can anyone recommend one?

Watching you guys talk/argue/hash it all out is an educational experience.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Well, I'll start the default answer to these questions and we can work from there. Here's you To-Do list:

1: Power audit! This will give you some important information on how big your inverter needs to be as well as how much battery capacity you'll need. There is a link in the FAQ section (I think, or someone here will post it shortly) so fill in the blanks and see what it comes up with. You'll probably need some sort of Kill-A-Watt to get accurate measurements. Are you going to be running a 12v system? 24v system? 48v system? What are the specs on your solar panels? VoC? Vmp? Being as this is a new build, throw together a wish list of what you want and estimate on the high side.