diy solar

diy solar

Solar Panel Output Question

cdcooper

Hello, my name is Chris and this is my first post. I am a relative solar novice. I have used the resources on the Mobile Solar Power website and this forum to build my latest system. Quick back round. A few years back I installed a rudimentary solar concept system to run lights in an off grid cabin. I used a 3 - 15w solar panel system from Harbor Freight, a VMAX SLR125 12 Volt 125ah AGM Solar Battery, a ProStar-15 solar charge controller and a cheap 200w inverter. We used the system to run some DC lights and charge phones, etc. Fast forward to 2022 and we were overdue for a system upgrade. Using the information from Mobile Solar Power website and this forum I designed and built a new all-in-one system using Sungoldpower's 3KVA Solar Inverter 24V 110V Parallel 80A Mppt Solar Charge Controller, a SOK 24V 100Ah LiFePO4 Battery and 2 Mega 200 Watt 24 Volt Solar Panels wired in series and mounted on the roof of the cabin facing South.

Here is my question. During full sun (say 12 noon) the solar inverter shows PV input voltage somewhere in the 82-83 volts range, it shows the amps between 2-3 amps. But the wattage never goes above 132 watts. Is this normal? The voltage seems accurate (open circuit voltage of each panel is 45.3v, maximum power voltage 37.6v) so given the fact the panels are wired in series the voltage should be roughly double the single panel voltage. But I was expecting the PV wattage to be closer to 200 watts. The panels are clean and free from obstructed light at that time of day. I know I'm missing a piece of the equation, but don't know what piece I am missing and would appreciate someone pointing me to the right resource so I can continue to learn.

Thank you.
Chris

If our batteries are near full or in absorption phase, they will only accept the power needed to maintain voltage.

Try hitting it with a > 400W load and see if your PV increases.

Also, that unit is going to consume: