diy solar

diy solar

Solar Powered 12volt Air Conditioner | Dometic RTX 2000 |

bodiepetro

I've been researching efficient Air Conditioners for 2 years before finally pulling the trigger on this Direct Current (solar and battery powered) roof mounted unit from Dometic on my 170 EXT Sprinter van . Very happy with power consumption & off-grid capability with 800 watts of solar on my roof and a 300ah Kilovault battery.

This is a Dometic RTX 2000 12volt system (6,824 BTU).

I made an install and review video if you would like to learn more. This unit is 12 volt powered and draws 120-700 watts maximum, a spendy unit but I am satisfied so far and can't wait to utilize this in warmer temperatures.
acrooftop.jpgIMG_20210408_010923.jpg

Thanks for putting this together!
I like the low profile! I guess Dometic is testing the Marketplace with the price. I already saw some Chinese non-names with a similar formfactor.

Vans are currently a hot commodity, so they are overcharging until they cant :p

Great video, thanks. I’m thinking I might want to install one, but I’m having a hard time figuring out of it needs to be covered if it’ll get snowed on and can the unit be ran while driving?
These issues aren’t addressed in the documents,
Nomadcooling wasn’t sure and Dometic didn’t answer....

i would personally not feel comfortable leaving those vents vertically unshielded even if manufacturer said it’s ok. just my 0.02usd

You can certainly run this unit when you are driving, the low profile of the unit compared to standard rooftop units of 12-16" makes it not catch a lot of wind. Unit only sticks up 6.5" above my roof and only 4" above my solar panels. I recently performed a power consumption test on a sunny warm day of 80°F, see how this unit performs with my 800watts of solar powering it.

Attachments

• IMG_20210405_183929.jpg
    IMG_20210405_183929.jpg
    336.9 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_20210408_001943.jpg
    IMG_20210408_001943.jpg
    75.4 KB · Views: 12