diy solar

diy solar

Solar Powered Dog Kennel (Large)

wednes

Hello everyone!

I work for a dog breeder who currently has a kennel built for her Irish Wolfhounds. They are running power from the house up to the kennel but would prefer the kennel to have it’s own power without having to be connected to the grid. It is an insulated steel structure that needs power for lighting, fans (can we install ac?), and power washer. I am totally new to this but think it is doable! I just don’t know what I need. Can anyone help?

$10,000 would be a good start.

Power washer will require a large inverter and battery to support it. 3000 watt or larger inverter. "All in One" inverter/charger would be something to look at. You will also need battery and solar panels.

You need to figure out how much power the facility uses each day, and then plan the system accordingly. The easiest setup would be a simple all in on inverter/charger as mentioned above with a appropriately sized battery bank, and as many panels as you can fit.

Since they already have grid, I would not remove it. I would run an all in on in grid assist mode, so you are not reliant completely on solar. Especially if the items (fans and or heat pump/AC) are mission critical. You don't want to be relying on the sun and it takes a vacation for a week or two leaving the dogs in the dark and heat/cold.

You need to figure out how much power the facility uses each day, and then plan the system accordingly. The easiest setup would be a simple all in on inverter/charger as mentioned above with a appropriately sized battery bank, and as many panels as you can fit.

Since they already have grid, I would not remove it. I would run an all in on in grid assist mode, so you are not reliant completely on solar. Especially if the items (fans and or heat pump/AC) are mission critical. You don't want to be relying on the sun and it takes a vacation for a week or two leaving the dogs in the dark and heat/cold.