diy solar

diy solar

Solar powered office

MesaGuy

Hello,

Frist off I am very new to solar.

I have a small detached office that I would like to run using solar. Right now, I am running it from the grid. The most solar I could put on the roof would be about 800 watts. I am thinking of getting a Growatt 24V SPF 3000 and SOK 24V 100Ah LiFePO4 Battery and (4) 200 Watt 24 Volt Solar Panels to power this. I am sure I will still need to rely on the grid to charge the battery when cloudy etc. I live in coastal southern California. I would be running a couple of computers and a space heater for couple of hours a day.

My question is, does this sound reasonable?

Thanks so much.

Last edited:
I don't think its reasonable, at least money savings wise and what I consider reasonable for an office, but a good power requirement would need to be done with an energy audit.

The battery you mention has 2400 total watt hour, and that will get you 2000 watt hours I'd feel comfortable using. You also need to plan to the worst day, which I will say is keeping your 500 watt heater on for 2 hours, which burns this down to 1000 watt hours or 50%. 1000 watt hours is where I'd stop because I want day 2 of power, so I won't go below 50% usable power.

For discussion, perhaps you can make 3200 watt hours per day for your system. In my signature block there's a off grid calculator for a better prediction for your 800 watts of panels. So, the max you can make in one day is the result of that calculator, and if you want to totally recharge the battery bank after one cloudy day, you'd be limited to 1600 watt hours of power. So, maybe you could run the space heater and laptop for a couple of days in a row. Also, to get 3200 watt hours of power, you'd need a second battery.

It's also hard saying two hours. I could not limit myself for only 2 hours a day.