diy solar

diy solar

Solar Well Pump / how to splice into secondary power system?

daniel.smith

Hey guys, new to this forum and I'm very new to the solar game... any help or advice is welcome :) Currently, I'm getting a new homestead setup with the aspirations of being entirely green/off-grid one day. Right now, my solar experience is solely on my well pump, which isn't much.

Today, I've got an RPS 800 solar powered well pump. It's an 800 watt system with it's own controller, pretty much a turn-key solution. What I'm trying to figure out is how to make sure of the rest of the system while the pump isn't doing anything. The pump, depending on the day, could fill up my water cistern anywhere between 2-5 hours. That leaves the rest of the day when the system is just sitting idle, and I'd love to tap into the possibility of running a sprinkler/pump system for my garden, or even tools.

I borrowed from Google and did my own paint additions (probably very poorly) but figured a picture might more easily explain what I mean. The solar pump system is basically this type of setup.

The other kicker that I've got is that the pump REALLY can't contend with other devices using the electricity. It really needs the 800 watts to ensure it run effectively. So, is there a way to "splice" or "inject" this type of solution into the mix, but make the system smart enough that when the pump turns off, any/all additions to the system get turned off entirely, and then turned back on when said pump is done doing it's job? Not sure how difficult this would be, or even how to accomplish it. I assume there's a switch that could do it, but it might take someone much smarter than me to do it.

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    104.9 KB · Views: 7