diy solar

diy solar

SolArk 12k Systems AC Setup

OffgridCowboy

Hi All!

First post here and super excited to be learning so much from the plethora of knowledge you all have!

So, I've been stumbling my way through this offgrid thing learning as we go and our home is running pretty good so far about 2 weeks in. Only issue is that our AC Condenser is too heavy for our system and throws an AC Overload Code on the SolArk when I try to turn it on.

Here are the specs on the AC unit. The SolArk guy said this: Since the LRA is 79 at 230, you go above the 16000 VA of surge that the Sol-Ark has; you would need a second inverter to run that load.

So my question is this: is there a smaller inverter you guys would recommend we could run parallel with our SolArk to make up the difference or possibly a soft start that could get us through the cranking?

Apologies for my ignorance as I'm still quite new to this.

Thanks!

IMG_4842.JPG.jpeg

Perhaps you can install a softstart system that would eliminate the compressor startup surge. I can't make any specific recommendations, but it's a place to start research. Maybe reach out to your A/C mfg and inquire about soft-start options from them.

Hi All!

First post here and super excited to be learning so much from the plethora of knowledge you all have!

So, I've been stumbling my way through this offgrid thing learning as we go and our home is running pretty good so far about 2 weeks in. Only issue is that our AC Condenser is too heavy for our system and throws an AC Overload Code on the SolArk when I try to turn it on.

Here are the specs on the AC unit. The SolArk guy said this: Since the LRA is 79 at 230, you go above the 16000 VA of surge that the Sol-Ark has; you would need a second inverter to run that load.

So my question is this: is there a smaller inverter you guys would recommend we could run parallel with our SolArk to make up the difference or possibly a soft start that could get us through the cranking?