diy solar

diy solar

Some quick small system LiFePo4 questions

Rednecktek

Solar Wizard
So I need to extend the run time between brighter* days on my driveway lights and I'm looking at the idea of swapping out my AGM batteries for some LiFe's to extend that battery time. I'm hoping to do this on a budget because I work for a living and have other projects for the house. So here's what I've got:

2x 15Ah AGM batteries
100w Renology panel
PWM controller
2x 3w LED lights
1w solar day/night eye

What I'm thinking of doing is swapping those 15Ah AGM's for a pair of 20Ah LiFe's (because the case only has so much space inside), but I've got some questions:

What happens if I try to save the PWM controller built for AGM's and feed the LiFe's? I know they don't put out the voltage that LiFe's want, but I've read that keeping the batteries between 20%-80% for best lifespan. What kind of losses/problems am I looking at?

What happens if the batteries try to charge during those few days a year that it's below freezing out? The batteries SHOULD have low temp shutoff, but what if?

Leaving an acid battery deeply discharged for any amount of time damages the batteries and they stop holding full capacity (so far only a day between the time the lights are dim and I can get down the driveway with the Jackery and jumper cables so far) but what happens to the LiFe's if they're left deeply discharged for days on end?

Thanks gang!

So I need to extend the run time between brighter* days on my driveway lights and I'm looking at the idea of swapping out my AGM batteries for some LiFe's to extend that battery time. I'm hoping to do this on a budget because I work for a living and have other projects for the house.

Adding batteries only extends run time between charges. Given the paltry solar you collect this time of year, I don't know that it's really much of an improvement.

What happens if I try to save the PWM controller built for AGM's and feed the LiFe's?