diy solar

diy solar

Strange charging or confusion?

once111

Equipment:
8 x new Fortune 100Ah - 8p0s configuration
Kaiweets PS-3010F - 10a/30v variable power supply
BMS - None at the moment, overkill BMS going on after top balance and final cell config (0p8s)

I know some of what I am doing is not necessary with new matched cells. I also understand that some of this requires a lot of attention without certain safety measures like using a BMS. I am trying to use this opportunity to experiment and learn about these techniques I am studying before I have to put these batteries into production. I am trying to manually top balance my cells after a manual bottom balance. I have all the cells in parallel, so I have currently configured a 3.65v 800Ah battery.

From my understanding, the primary points of charging LiFePO batteries are to charge at Constant Current (CC) until the cells reach absorption at 3.65v (~90% SOC), then switch to charging at Constant Voltage (CV) until the current reduces to almost nothing (~100% SOC). The Kaiweets PS supply does 10a, so I was hoping to use the full 10a for the CC phase, as this will only be a 0.0125 C rate and slow enough at that rate. As I understand, this low C rate should not affect the charging other than taking a long time, 80 hours from zero to full. When I started my charging, I saw numbers I don't like and wanted to see if I have an issue with my understanding, technique, or equipment.