diy solar

diy solar

Tell me about your property. Inverter distances, amp ratings, etc

Stewfish

Let me know about your property system and any regrets or how well it's running. We have 10 acres and I'm planning to build a 1600 sq ft house off grid 100%. I'm trying to design my (US) residential side of things of the solar system. I don't want to tax the inverters too much. My knowledge is coming from a normal 240v residential panel w a 600v service. I have built 2 houses, remodeled 1, remodeled a condo in a commercial building, and a townhouse. I'm no electrician, but im many cases I have done all the work and had an electrician just connect it at the main panel. I have installed many sub panels, hot tubs, etc.

Normal 240v vs being limited to 120v configuration:

I know you can run a MPP 2 hot legs into a transformer to get split phase for residential. But MPP says you cant stack the inverters though.

I want to future proof encase I upgrade my inverters one day. From what I can tell I would only be running one 120v conductor/leg to one bar in the house panel. This means no 240v breakers eg 40a or 50a. I wont have any 240v fixtures, so that is okay. Is it best to use a normal 200a panel and just use one side/bar?

30a breaker limit:
I don't think I have ever seen a 120v 50a let alone a 60a single conductor breaker. I was thinking have a panel in a solar shed that feeds the other structures for safety. But if I had a panel in the shed it would be limited to single conductor 30a lines to feed each structure sub panel. To get the rated 60a from the inverter to the house I'm thinking just have a disconnect between the inverter and the house. Have a 2g conductor feed the house panel. Then add a normal 200a $120 panel at the house and only use one side.