diy solar

diy solar

Texas Off-Grid versus buying power lines

jjminch

I’m looking for some advice on doing a complete off-grid system for my new homestead. Construction on the property is starting soon and I need to decide by next month on how I will power the home.

The power company is estimating at least $12k to run lines to my property. That isn’t including the clearing costs and electrician costs for a meter. I'm guessing it will be $20k. Plus power lines are ugly and I wouldn’t mind doing my part to help environment.

I used to work as a PM for a switchgear/power gen company. I’m not an engineer or a sparky but I’m confident I can tackle most of the work.

Location – Austin TX

Lat 29.99549

Long -97.45226

House/Family – 1600 sq ft living space for family of 5. New Metal Building “Barndo” plus shop space. Will be well insulated using spray foam. Mini-splits for HVAC, plus propane for range/stove and tankless water heater.

Monthly Usage – My current home is nearby but is 3000 sq ft with two large inefficient central air systems. It ranged from 1154 kwh in March to 3314 kwh in August, the average for the year was 1940 kwh.

I’m estimating a 30 percent reduction for the smaller house, my monthly estimate is 1350 KWH. Is this a reasonable assumption?

Panels– Will be ground mount, plenty of space, can get direction/angle “just right”.

AHJ/Regulations – No plans to grid tie this but will be using a construction loan. Need reputable vendors with warrantied product for the major components.

Batteries – What is the minimum storage recommended? 2 days of power? I will have gas generator available to offset low productivity.

Questions:

What specs on batteries storage do I require?

How much PV do I need?

What should I budget for this?

Can I build in expansion capability into the system? Barns, additional homes, etc.

Recommended vendors and reading? Anyone have a similar situation and post a build thread?

Glad I found the site. Thank you in advance.

Josh