diy solar

diy solar

This newbie just got his EVE 280 amp hr cells.

Clavebob

I'm a newbie in this forum but I have messed about with electrifying sailboats in the past. It was awhile ago so my options then were lead acid. I have joined the four cells that I just received together and they're charging up. It's interesting to observe how lifepo4 batts charge compared to lead acid. The voltage is slowly rising but so is the amperage. It that normal for these types of batteries? I'm going to bulk charge them up to 14 volts or so and then use the Dr Meter power supply to top balance. So far the batteries are sucking up 8 amps. Seems to be holding there. The pack reads13.4 volts.

I'm a newbie in this forum but I have messed about with electrifying sailboats in the past. It was awhile ago so my options then were lead acid. I have joined the four cells that I just received together and they're charging up. It's interesting to observe how lifepo4 batts charge compared to lead acid. The voltage is slowly rising but so is the amperage. It that normal for these types of batteries? I'm going to bulk charge them up to 14 volts or so and then use the Dr Meter power supply to top balance. So far the batteries are sucking up 8 amps. Seems to be holding there. The pack reads13.4 volts.

is your BMS installed? If not, stop immediately.

I get what you mean but I'm being careful. I don't have a BMS yet. I'm bringing the pack up to apx 14 Volt. Then I will rewire the pack in parallel and use my DC power supply to top balance. Thanks for the warning.

I figured out pretty quick that something was not right with the battery charger. It turns out the battery clamps that I had attached a long time ago were just twisted together. I've attached ring terminals now so I can directly attach to the batts. Now I'm charging at the max for the unit, 35 amps. Before with the twisted wires all I was putting into the battery was 8 amps. That could have caused a fire !