diy solar

diy solar

Thoughts On System Design - Assistance Appreciated

rkwolfe

I have a 12 x 20 off grid cabin I have been building on and off for about a year. Very excited about solar power and ready to make the investment in batteries, panels, charge controller, etc. Been studying Will's videos and projects for a couple of years now. Amazing and inspiring. I am a Mechanical Engineer in the power industry with basic knowledge of wiring and power generation. I have done some home wiring with 120V AC but I have never done DC. Would like to get some thoughts on compatibility between the major components before I make the investment.

I plan to run a DC air conditioning unit once in a while in the summer. Other than that just charging a computer, small electronics, and a few lights the rest of the time for load. Have a wood burning stove for heat. I am looking at the Hot Spot Energy DC48 Unit. The direct DC unit is very efficient. Curious if anyone knows of a different model. This is the only one I can find.

Running some basic numbers for charge per day based on 6 hours I was thinking of two strings of 4 panels 440W / 50 VOC / 11A (each string) in (two strings) parallel for a total output of around 200VOC at 22A. I think that would be a good fit for a Victron 250V, 100A MPPT. For batteries I like the SOK server style units 48V 5kW. I was thinking two in parallel for about 10kW storage.

With the cabin being off grid I am concerned about the inverter running a lot while I am not there – hence the DC air conditioning unit. I would like to set up the system so it can charge and the air conditioning unit can run a little to control humidity and keep the cabin temp at or below 90F to preserve the batteries. That would require a bus in the 48V range to power the air conditioner and an inverter for 120V AC loads.