diy solar

diy solar

Threads vs Posts on Alibaba LifePo4 cells

Barbar0ssa

I am noticing on Alibaba that similar cells are offered with either threads or 1 cm posts. Threads allow you to bring your own screws for any length but I've heard that people are stripping them out. Are posts more resilient? Is 1 cm long enough? Am I overthinking this and it really doesn't matter?

Hcb4e755721e44a48aa780f486ce064efb.jpg

The threads are a much debated issue. The aluminum is soft and the holes are very shallow, so they are prone to being stripped. There has also been reports of the holes being tapped crooked and just generally poorly machined threads.

I'm pretty new to this stuff, but it seems like the welded on studs have not been a common option on the popular commodity cells. It seems that some suppliers are offering them now, but I think it's been pretty recent and I have not seen any reports on how the studs are working out yet.

I got my cells (with threads) last week and I used red loctite to permanently install the studs (grub screws) provided. They seem really solid, but time will tell how they hold up. I am installing them in a van (high vibration), so it will be a good test. If I have issues, my plan is to install helicoils in all cells.

If I was buying cells today and had the option to do threads or welded on studs, I'd probably go studs. I'd rather the studs be longer than 1cm, but I could make 1 cm work. The current unknows on studs from my perspective:
  • How securely are the studs welded on to the terminals? If they pop off when high torque is applied, that's probably worse than a stripped thread (there is really no good way to weld it back on without specialty welding equipment). I think this is pretty low risk, but you never know with some of these vendors.
  • Does the smaller mating surface on the stud create any challenges with the electrical connection to the bus bars?