diy solar

diy solar

To shunt or not to shunt...

KneeOh

Greets all, I'm a noob to this solar system.

I recently built a solar system that lives on a car trailer, so I can camp out with a laptop, video projector and a fridge full of beers :)

Several friends helped out. Then someone told me I need to put a SHUNT onto my system; I replied please dont swear at me buddy :p

Do I really need one, and if so what Amps?

Tanks in Advance and Happy Festivus for the restofus!

Attachments

• Schematic.JPG
    Schematic.JPG
    135.1 KB · Views: 103
Then someone told me I need to put a SHUNT onto my system

Do I really need one,
Not strictly needed, but you may want one. A shunt is used to measure current in/out of the battery, which can then be used to measure state of charge, consumption, etc. A poor and partial analogy is that a battery monitor is like a gas gauge, its pretty damn useful to know how much is left in the tank (and what is going in/out), but its not strictly necessary. Many would consider some type of battery monitor to be a required piece of a decent system design though.

A shunt based battery monitor is the best option with LiFePO4, but with lead acid batteries, I think a simple voltage based battery monitor works for many people (I personally know next to nothing about lead acid).

Why did the person you talked to tell you to use a shunt?

and if so what Amps?
More than your max potential current in/out. I believe a rule of thumb is that you want your max continuous current to be very roughly 2/3 of the shunts rating, but I may be misremembering the specifics.

Last edited:
Why did the person you talked to tell you to use a shunt?
It was like a mystery, they said search it out and see. I read a little bit, because I am not so cluey with this stuff I thought I would check here.

Please confirm the following:
  1. 12V system
  2. PWM controllers
  3. 300W panels, one per PWM controller
yessiree!