diy solar

diy solar

To Space or Not To Space EVE 105 Fixture/Compression

lakespyder

After a major fail due to purchasing a GTK pack on Ali Express for my golf cart (You can see my struggles with that pack in another post of mine), I have now purchased EVE 105 cells and a BMS to build my first 16S 48v battery for my golf cart.

I just finished top balancing the new cells and am putting them together. This is my first build and I want to be sure to do it right. My question is should the cells be tightly bound together or should I use some spacing material to allow for expansion. I have the material and a plan on how to do it, but I was hoping to learn if there is any reason that I should not. It will be a minimal space, but enough to allow for a very slight amount of expansion, and my thought is that doing this would prevent there ever being any stress on the busbars. Additionally, since this is for a golf cart, the battery will not be stationary so possibly this could reduce overall stress some. I have found posts on larger cells, but not seen any in this forum on the EVE 105.

Are there any advantages or disadvantages of putting this rubber material between my cells to provide space?

Thanks in advance

20220607_133900.jpg20220607_135349.jpg

I have read 2 different manufacturer documents, but have not seen anything that would indicate if this is a good or bad idea. It does show that they tested using a 300kgf clamp force. Does this imply that it would be better to have them firmly bound together, rather than using any type of spacer?

Screenshot 2022-06-07 143842.jpg

My question is should the cells be tightly bound together or should I use some spacing material to allow for expansion.
Nothing in any manufacturers literature suggests that room for expansion needs to be provided. They all talk about fixture or apparatus to provide compression. My guess that is to prevent expansion. That is how I have compressed mine.