diy solar

diy solar

Top and Bottom Balance for EG4 12V

EARVS

This is my first posting here on the site. I am new to working with LiFePO4 (nearly so).

I purchased an EG4 12V rack, first rack I've owned. I thought I was having issues but I think
it was the settings on my Victron Shunt. I needed to make sure there were no draws at all
and reset the current base (I'll call it). Now it reads "okay" I let the unit charge up with a
Victron IP65 and a bit confused on making setting right (for now). I got the EG4 monitor
software installed and could see some things ... and from here are my questions, some general
and others likely basic too.
1. I have read where people top balance (okay) but the bottom balance and not sure how that
works and how to do it. I have turned off the charger and just using the unit and am guessing
that sooner or later it will shut off automatically. Then completely full charge the unit until the
Victron charger goes into Float or Storage. I am assuming this is doing a bottom balance
and top balance. How often would I do this and/or is it okay to just leave a charger on and
let it keep management of it as I use it? 2. I've had it running a day or so, lights, radio etc. and the Shunt
reads 94% but the BMS EG4 software said 91% ... So I am thinking synchronization or that I didn't
have right true state of charge at reset of current and percentage when reset. 3. The four sensors
reading the "cells" in the EG4 software shows three at 3.28 and one at 3.18 ... each cell I am
sure is four individual cells that their BMS doesn't read individually. Is this a good or bad
differential... remember too, I am using down the battery for now. Had he battery on line about
4 days.

Later, I am planning on connecting and using the Victron Multiplus II 12V and a bit trepidations
based on what I've been reading on this site. Apparently the 12V version of the EG4 doesn't
communicate with the Cerbo GX, but 24 and 48 do ... I am told.