diy solar

diy solar

Top Balancing using a PSU: is this exactly the other way around?

powerB

I've got a simple 4S 100Ah battery sitting on my table, waiting to be top balanced for the first time. I am a novice when it comes to this stuff, but I've done a lot of reading and researching and have downloaded the Tutorial about balancing LiFePO4 with a 10A power supply. I think I have a good grasp of the important concepts but I am not sure if I'm doing everything right, though...??

The individual cells each measured in at 3.30v and I've hooked them up in parallel. I've decided not to do the pre-charging but instead go straight to the balancing. So I've taken the following steps:
- set the max voltage of the PSU to 3,65v (nothing connected)
- attached the positive (+) and the negative (-) clamps together to then dial in the amps (set to 10A)
- only after that is done clamp to and connect the battery terminals

...the PROBLEM (if it is one): the PSU display shows that the PSU is in the CV (constant voltage) mode, the display shows a permanent 3,65v and the amperage has dropped to around 4,0-4,2A and seems to slowly slowly decrease over time.

Now I'm really wondering whether this is correct?? I thought LiFePO4's needed to be charged up to 3,65v with a constant current??
Is charging at a constant voltage bad?
In another thread one person's response to a similar situation was: the PSU leads could be the problem (because they're way too thin)?
Am I misunderstanding?

Here are three pictures to show whats going on:
lifepo4_detail.jpg Step 1: set the max voltage to 3,65v

lifepo4_detail2.jpg Step 2: set the max current to 10A (by clamping the two leads to each other, as per PSU manual)
lifepo4-detail3.jpg Step 3: connect the cell and watch this happen: the PSU is in the CV mode, the amps are down to 4,377A and slowly seem to be dropping

Being in CV is normal..... nothing wrong with that.