diy solar

diy solar

Total Newbie Starting from Scratch

So spent all of last night going over every post w/ my husband to try to teach him what you all have helped me with so far. Then I wasted the evening trying to figure out how I am able to come up with a combination of batteries (and whether they are parallel or daisy-chain) that would give me 6,327 wHrs/day and 585.8 amp hours on a 24v system. Whenever I try to increase the amps up to that 585 - then I can't get the volts high enough - and if the volts are high enough, the amps are not. I found batteries that are 12v - 100Ah, 12v - 200Ah, 12v - 206Ah, 12v - 207Ah, 24v - 50Ah, 48v - 100Ah

I think we came to the conclusion that we might need to do 6 - 445W solar panels to start w/.

Anyone have any suggestions on what I might want to look at first?

Good morning Amanda,
I am new to the battery/solar game myself. Very confusing and oddly fun trying to figure it all out.
I do know from experience that you might want to look at changing anything that makes heat from electricity and change that to propane (hot water heater/clothes dryer)
Living in Ohio I understand the need for A/C in the summer. Your Bus seems big enough to warrant a split unit air conditioner which is pretty efficient and could help heat also.
Best of luck and have fun along the journey.

Good morning Amanda,
I am new to the battery/solar game myself. Very confusing and oddly fun trying to figure it all out.
I do know from experience that you might want to look at changing anything that makes heat from electricity and change that to propane (hot water heater/clothes dryer)
Living in Ohio I understand the need for A/C in the summer. Your Bus seems big enough to warrant a split unit air conditioner which is pretty efficient and could help heat also.
Best of luck and have fun along the journey.