diy solar

diy solar

Trace SW 4024 inverter users

Hello,

Are there any Trace SW 4024 inverter users out there? If so, I’d like to hear from you and maybe share user info and experiences.

Thanks!

Neighbor has one. Running since 1999 with zero issues.

That vintage is bulletproof.

Mine are actually SW4048's.

Also have two SW5548plus models (further back in picture) They just run the 4 ton central air cond mostly. They have high surge current capability. Both pairs are series connected for 240vac split phase operation.

I have SW 4024. 1996 vintage. I’m new to this solar and I have plenty of questions. 5 out of 12 batteries failed. I’m thinking about switching to lithium ion vs lead acid. I wonder if the inverter can charge the new batts and how to program it to control the charge correctly

I have one 20 year-old Trace SW4024/FLA system in my well shed - combined with a xantrex T-240 transformer it runs my well pump and acts as a backup system for the Schneider SW4024/LFP that runs my house. Like the man said, damn near bulletproof. And heavy, whoo-boy... don't try lifting that baby by yourself. Best.

I have SW 4024. 1996 vintage. I’m new to this solar and I have plenty of questions. 5 out of 12 batteries failed. I’m thinking about switching to lithium ion vs lead acid. I wonder if the inverter can charge the new batts and how to program it to control the charge correctly

It will charge LiFePO4. Should explain your 5 out of 12 batteries failed statement in more details.

LiFePO4 will not take well to overcharging. If you are killing batteries because you are overcharging them LiFePO4 batteries will just be a more expensive mistake.

You should describe how you are using inverter, what are your batteries, and what your present charger settings are to know best way to set up charging.

It will charge LiFePO4. Should explain your 5 out of 12 batteries failed statement in more details.