diy solar

diy solar

Tracer 5415AN suitability?

Aussie Collie

Hello,
I am looking at buying a Epever Tracer 5415AN controller. It has a rated charging current of 50 amps.
I am new to lithium. Question is: Would this controller be suited to the two Enercore LiFePO4 batteries I have?
I plan to set them up in series for 24v, which is ok for these according to the datasheet (max 48v).

Battery specs:
Rated Capacity: 100Ah
Nominal Voltage: 12.8V
Cut-off Voltage: 9.2V
Energy: 1280Wh
Max. Charge Voltage: 14.4~14.6V
Max. Charge Current: 50A (≤ 0.5C)
Max. Continues Discharge current: 100A (≤ 1C)
Max. Discharge Current: 2.3 Seconds 200A

Panels will be 2 x 400 watt in series. 41.2 Voc and 12.28 Isc each panel.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Collie?

Yes. Almost any can provided:

Bulk/absorp/boost is less than 14.6V.
Float is not more than 13.6V
Temperature compensation is disabled
Equalization is disabled or set to same as bulk/absorp/boost.

Many AGM or sealed programs are good provided you can turn off temperature compensation.

Thanks sunshine_eggo.

I'm a little worried about the batteries max charge current of 50 amps and the controller also being 50 amps.

Will the batteries suffer from being charged at 50 amps over the long term?
From what I can see there is no way to lower the amp output on the 5415AN controller.

Or am I worrying about a non-issue??

Or am I worrying about a non-issue?
Yes. And no.

You probably ain’t gonna ever see 100% ratings out of the panels anyways. But it could happen.
Yesterday I was shocked at 66V and 4.3?A from three 21.6VOC panels in series. 8*F and high haze clouds do it could happen. In your case the SCC should never output over 50A so a 50A charge-rate battery should never be over out of range

800W/24V = 33.3A, so you're nowhere near 50A.
I'm worried about the output/charge amps of the controller. It being an mppt, doesn't it raise the amps and lower the voltage (find the maximum power point)?