diy solar

diy solar

Trying to put it all together ...

PeterBC

So I’m relatively new to this DIY LiFePO4 batteries but need to get moving as my old 4 x 220AH Victron GEL’s are close to stuffed after only 4 busy seasons on my barge (500 cycles, but too many > 50% I think). I've be scouring these forums for info, and several other sources. I'm an Electrical Engineer but not practicing.
Not quite sure which is best forum to post this be it this one or BMS's etc..

I have a Victron Quattro 5000/24V and 4 x 250W Solar panels with a Victron SmartSolar MPPT 100/50. Charing is also from a big 3 phase 14kw generator which I can charge via the Victron at 2.4kw , 100 Amps into the battery using a single phase, or shore power. Load is primarily AC via the Victron at 5kw max, approx. 220Amps from the batteries. I also have a Victron BMV-7xx battery monitor (and shunt).

I’m planning 24 x 3.2V LiFePO4 280AH cells as they are 1/5th the price or better vrs other retail chemistries or Lithiums for the same useable AH. Better than 1/10th the lifetime cost per kwH cycled than other lead acid chemistries, and generally more tolerant of abuse (as long as a BMS is present and chargers/loads obey any requisite signals).

Key questions:
  1. Which battery ? Xuba, Basen, other ? What price ? What freight to France ? How long to ship by sea vrs Air ?
  2. 8S x 3P or 3P x 8S ? Passive Balance current (35ma or 200ma) of 3P x 280AH -840AH is it enough ? Should Active Balancers be considered (1.5 or 5A) , 1 BMS vrs 3 BMS but can 1BMS handle charge/discharge current of 3P batteries 100/200Amp) ? If 3 banks, size each BMS to handle ½ the charging /discharging load for redundancy.
  3. BMS Daly , Electrodacus , Heltec active balancing , Chargery or Other ?