diy solar

diy solar

Trying to run a two phase well pump

Welcome to the party myself3.

2 phase is like what am electric range runs on, 2 “ hot” legs of 120vac and one neutral leg.
Not necessarily for AC asynchronous motors.The majority of them run on 220V on one phase and generate the second phase from a capacitor.
Look if you have some capacitor value printed on the motor.
Then the only thing you need is a 120-220V transformer and that capacitor. You need also a pure sinus inverter.

I'm guessing none of you make a living in the electrical industry, correct?

In the USA it is a SINGLE PHASE 230Volt motor. To start it rotating a capacitor is wired into the circuit and then cuts out using a centrifugal switch

I'm guessing none of you make a living in the electrical industry, correct?
I'm an electrician on container ships, does that count?

In the USA it is a SINGLE PHASE 230Volt motor. To start it rotating a capacitor is wired into the circuit and then cuts out using a centrifugal switch
With EU/Asia/Everywhere else power it's called a SINGLE PHASE 230Volt motor and requires a start capacitor wired in to get the motor started in the right direction.

How would you differentiate the two if it's exactly the same name for two different motors?

I know enough to be dangerous but not heard of 2 phase power yet.

It does exist, although OP probably isn't working with it.

Once you've got two legs out of phase (by anything other than 180 degrees), you can make any and all phases you want with transformers. It's just geometry.

I'm an electrician on container ships, does that count?

With EU/Asia/Everywhere else power it's called a SINGLE PHASE 230Volt motor and requires a start capacitor wired in to get the motor started in the right direction.

How would you differentiate the two if it's exactly the same name for two different motors?