diy solar

diy solar

Trying to see if this is even possible - mobile home park doesn't allow solar panels

bassplayer

Hi everyone... I have a mobile home and the management company says 'no way' to installing solar panels on the roof. BUT they said they would allow me to put some panels on my 8' x 12' shed. According to my electric bill, my normal monthly usage (when not using a/c) is 160kvh average and with a/c in the summer it's approx 272kvh.

What I'm trying to figure out is if I can get enough panels on the shed to run my home without using a/c I'm looking online and see that they are coming out with some high wattage panels now and just thought I'd throw it out there and see if I might have a shot at this.

Thank you for any responses (and it's appreciated if they are not too technical, as I'm new at this.

I not know where you are located but in California there is the Solar Rights Act which limits how much HOAs can restrict solar. I do not know how it applies to Mobile homes because that is an landlord tenant situation and I don't even know if you are in California. That is why it is useful to put some general location information in your profile so that comments can be more relevant.

In terms of calculating the output go to PVWatts and run a simulation based on how many panels you can get on your shed.

Last edited:
Hi everyone... I have a mobile home and the management company says 'no way' to installing solar panels on the roof. BUT they said they would allow me to put some panels on my 8' x 12' shed. According to my electric bill, my normal monthly usage (when not using a/c) is 160kvh average and with a/c in the summer it's approx 272kvh.

What I'm trying to figure out is if I can get enough panels on the shed to run my home without using a/c I'm looking online and see that they are coming out with some high wattage panels now and just thought I'd throw it out there and see if I might have a shot at this.