diy solar

diy solar

Tying to Calculate my Solar Requirement for Small RV

Murph

Was wondering if folks could tell me if I am doing this correctly. I have a small Aframe RV Rockwood A122S that I am calculating my DC load to determine how many panels I need. Would like to stay with portable suitcase style for flexibility. I am currently using (2) AGM 100 AMP hour batteries. I calculated my summer vs cold weather needs separately. What would you say my wattage needs for solar would be. I am a little confused since I have seen many small RVs like mine using 100W or 200W total portable panels and they seem to doTT fine. I am just looking to trickle charge my batteries when boon docking. If I can get away with a 200W portable suitcase I will want to upgrade the controller to a MPPT.

Newbie here and thanks for any help.

Summer:

1. Refrigerator run on propane(does have minimal DC requirements)2 AMPS=24 watts x 24 hrs a day=576 watt hours
  2. Water Pump 4 AMPS= 48 watts x 1 hrs a day= 48 watt hours
  3. Radio 4 AMPS= 48 watts x 3 hours a day max = 144 watt hours
  4. Dometic Ceiling Fan 4 AMPS=48 watts x 4 hours a day max = 144 watt hours
  5. Interior LED LIghts 1 AMP x 2 = 2 AMPS = 24 watts x 3 hours a day = 72 watt hours
  6. Outside Light 1 AMP x 1 = 12 watts x 2 hours a night = 24 watt hours
  7. CO2 Detector 1 AMP = 12 watts x 24 hours a day= 288 watt hours
  8. USB outlets (2) Cannot find the draw for these???
  9. Gas Range - Cant see that there is a DC load here since it is all propane
Total Watt Hours = 1296 per day = 108 AMP Hours

Winter:

1. Furnace 12 AMPS? = 144 Watts x 8 hrs a day = 1152 Watt hours
  2. Refrigerator run on propane(does have minimal DC requirements)2 AMPS=24 watts x 24 hrs a day=576 watt hours
  3. Water Pump 4 AMPS= 48 watts x 1 hrs a day= 48 watt hours
  4. Radio 4 AMPS= 48 watts x 3 hours a day max = 144 watt hours
  5. Dometic Ceiling Fan 4 AMPS=48 watts x 4 hours a day max = 144 watt hours