diy solar

diy solar

Underperforming Renogy MPPT controller?

Smoza

Hey all,

Bit of a newbie here, but Renogy won't reply to my support request.

I have 400w of panels, wired in series and parallel, ie 2 X 200w sets. On a winter day here they put out about 32v @ 6a total to my Renogy 20a rover controller.

This outputs to a lithtech 100ah Lifepo4 battery.

According to the Bluetooth BMS on board the battery, with no other loads connected, it generally only receives about 6-7a at approx 13v.

By my calculations, that would suggest I'm only getting roughly half the output from the panels to my battery.

Shouldn't the controller step up the amps much higher to use as much power as possible from the panels?

Cheers.

Welcome to the forum.

32V * 6A = 192W

13V * 6.5A = 84.5W

I assume these readings were taken at completely different times.

I also assume your panels are perfectly perpendicular to the sun with no shading and clear skies. If not, you will lose a lot of your solar potential.

400W/12V = 33.3A - your MPPT is undersized. It has the potential to send only 20A when your array can supply as much as 33A.

So, the maximum you can get from your 400W array is about, 20A * 14.6V = 292W.

If the battery is in absorption or float mode, it doesn't matter how much solar is available. It will only send what the battery can accept.

A good way to test the output of an MPPT is to draw loads greater than the array power, 292W in your case. That way the MPPT is forced to provide the maximum power available.

Welcome to the forum.

32V * 6A = 192W

13V * 6.5A = 84.5W

I assume these readings were taken at completely different times.

I also assume your panels are perfectly perpendicular to the sun with no shading and clear skies. If not, you will lose a lot of your solar potential.

400W/12V = 33.3A - your MPPT is undersized. It has the potential to send only 20A when your array can supply as much as 33A.