diy solar

diy solar

Update on Solar Conversion for 53' Trawler (32V)

Thom Price

So I've been living aboard the Hatteras in Baltimore for a few months now, and am starting to get my head wrapped around all of the various systems. I've had it out in the harbor a few times for short trips, but mostly I'm using it as a condo. My goal is to eventually use it for more cruising in a few years, but for now I'll be attached to shore power most of the time. I pay $0.25 per KWH for electricity here in the marina, so reducing the amount of shore power I need will both save on the electric bill when I'm "home" and reduce the need to run the generator when I'm out cruising. BTW, my background is in residential energy auditing and building small boats.
What I have:
This boat has a 32V system, which includes some lights, the three macerating heads, starter motors for the Detroit 8V-71 engines, hydraulics, and a few other items. Then there is a 120/240V AC system which includes the kitchen appliances, laundry, HVAC, water heater, some other lights, and outlets throughout. Then there is a 12V system for some of the instruments, the starter for the generator, and a few other things here and there. I have AC shore power, a 32V charger/inverter, two 32V 980AH FLA battery banks, an 8KW generator (AC), two 32V alternators, and now, as if things aren't complicated enough, I'm going to be adding solar panels.
What I've done: