diy solar

diy solar

UPS/Powerwall

bigjme

Hi All,

First off, incredibly sorry if this is very off topic post or not the type of system to talk about here.
I recently started watching Will and he has now given me an itch that wont stop.

I live in the UK and where i currently live, solar is not really a viable option and power costs are not horribly high.
I am a bit of a tech head and for work i run a full server cabinet at home for various bits and pieces

My servers currently runs off a very expensive APC SMX1500RMI2U, it is a great little unit for battery backup and power cuts are few and far between
The longest power cut in the last 2 years was 2 hours so nothing over the top
I work from home so server downtime is money lost which is the reason for me wanting something a little bigger and i am always worried about warranty on units

The downside of the APC is that for the fairly high cost, i get roughly 40 minutes of runtime out of it when the server is idle and when using it, id be lucky to get 30
I can expand it to roughly 2 hours for a reasonable cost with a battery module but the unit is around 5 years old now, out of warranty, and its time to see if a viable alternative is available should it fail besides just looking for another generic computer grade UPS

So, now the back story is done, i got the idea from Will to look at build a DIY Powerwall that is primarily just a large glorified UPS for my server but that could move with me in the future where Solar may be more viable. For now, I have no need to do anything else besides to store power for in the event of power failure
My primary objectives are:
  1. Last at least 2 hours with a 400w load
  2. A roughly similar price to the APC unit and a battery expansion
  3. Provide a better warranty period if possible
  4. Not take up a huge amount of space as the existing units sits in a server cab at the bottom
  5. Have a fast enough switch over time to keep everything on (the part i am struggling with most)