diy solar

diy solar

used Valence 40amp RT Series arrived at 5.23 volts...will it charge???

RisingSun

Following Will's videos I purchased 2 used Valence RT series 40 amp batteries. One chaged great, the 2nd has 5.23 volts. I bought a Nocco Genius 5, 10a charger.it switches between standby and charge w/o charging.
The charger has a repair feature, but the instructions suggest to only use if volts of battery is 2 or less. Can I save the battery or did I get a dud? I am very new to this and am slowly setting up my first system to learn more and gain experience. My initial setup will be off grid to setup low voltage landscape lighting.

I just bought my 3rd and fourth Valence batteries (I bought them in pairs to series connect for a 24 volt system) and one of my batteries is at 4.6volts. I tried to trickle (1 amp) charge it with no success. I too would like to know if I can "fix" it(

Unfortunately most of these valence batteries bought used are over 10 years old and even if they have good batteries inside the bms is most likely the culprit for why they are failing. At least this is from my observations ( I own 20 of them). Most likely if your batteries are reading low voltage, part or most of the cell groups are dead. Save your good batteries by removing the bms and get a new one for your needs wither it be 12v ~ 48v. But that takes a little knowledge how to remove and replace. 30 amp bms should be sufficient for the 12v rt series 40ah batteries and are fairly cheap. JBD is a decent brand. But honestly I would just get rid of the valence and get something new.

I purchased a new charger with a "repair" function. I was successful in bringing the battery to 13.46 volts.

Great! But can you charge to 14.6v? That's where the cells balance. If you do hit 14.6v let the battery sit for a day or two and see if it drops under 13.2.