diy solar

diy solar

Useful nugget on top balancing...

wmills_92105

Thanks to @Steve_S for this! Excerpted from another thread.

"I am no expert, just a critical observer.
There is far too much over concern about LFP cells sitting at "FULL" SOC. 3.65V and lower will NOT hurt the cells and over time they will self-discharge albeit quite slowly. The cells never sit there as they will always settle, typically to 3.5** Volts. Where keeping Voltage Hi is a problem, is with people "FLOATING" cells to Hi State. The other problems are also if there is a runner or lazy cell playing games in the battery pack. If FLOAT has to be in the equation due to charger type then it should be set to lower than max charge value, typically around 3.4V per cell equivalent."

I was worried about my cells dropping off 3.65v overnight, but now I know that it is normal.

Ok another useful nugget from @Maast

"When you crimp make sure you put the connectors split against the OUTSIDE of the crimp area, you DONT want the crimper dimple pressing down on the seam, you want the crimper dimple pressing on the solid side. Freaking nobody does this right and it drives me nuts."

Thank you sir!

I’m not sure i follow this one, with my open barrel terminal crimpers they have a male and female anvil. The seam of the crimp faces into the female cavity- and the dimple rolls the seam inwards.

I worked for an auto manufacturer and all crimps were done this way - and we were trained to repair harness crimps this way.

See the Iwiss crimper website for an example of what i’m talking about