diy solar

diy solar

Using Chargery BMS without disconnect relay

Solarfun4jim

Solar seduced :-)
Im soon to be doing a 'capacity test' on my 8s battery bank. I wish to use my chargery BMS8T to monitor the cells but i do not have a dc relay for discharge cut off. I assume if i take the positive and negative wires from the discharge relay and simply connect them across a terminal block, then on low voltage disconnect situation, it will simply terminate the current through the block. However, at the same time, the buzzer and the warning 'led' should sound the alarm and at that point i can manually disconnect the capacity tester. I would be using the calibrated shunt supplied by chargery, so i presume no further calibration should be needed.
Anyone see any issues in monitoring my individual cell voltages this way and reacting immediately on alarm signal LVD?

Sounds like a workable plan, but Murphy hides around every corner. It's up to you to keep him away. I'm not very good at that.

Sounds like a workable plan, but Murphy hides around every corner. It's up to you to keep him away. I'm not very good at that.
Cheers snoobler...thanks for the re assurance.

You mind if i ask you a question about the remote on/off terminal H on victron products?

The H terminal(on a multiplus) or remote terminal on the SCC 150/45TR, just needs to see a 12v input to maintain them at the 'on position'. If i take the 12v output of the charge/discharge relay on a chargery BMS, can i simply connect the positive lead and ignore the negative. I believe when the H terminal is not needed they simply cross the left and middle terminals to switch on? The 'remote' on the SCC has a two pole connector.
So if each was supplied with 12v output from BMS relay positives only, does it really matter if the negative wires are connected anywhere?
I'm not the best at explaining, so i hope this makes sense.
Thanks

Edit....nearly 3am here, will have to catch up with the forum later. :sleep:(y)

Last edited: