diy solar

diy solar

Using LifePo4 as an emergency back up

J-dog

Hey guys, if I were to use a LifePo4 in an emergency backup situation, what would be the shelf life of the battery? It could sit around and technically never be used for decades if you know what I mean. Of course I would have to keep it charged because of it sitting from lack of use. I'm new to solar backup systems and I didn't want to invest in something that wouldn't be there for me 10 years from now. There's much discussion in forums about cycle life of LifePo4 batteries, but I couldn't find anything on shelf life with a recharge maybe once a year. Thank you in advance!

I have no idea how to use a lithium battery as a emergency backup. No spec sheet I see days to do this. There’s always a store at 50% or below.

Flooded lead acid says to leave disconnected for 30 days or longer, but needs to be checked to not go below a threshold around 75%.

I hear Gel is made for that, but when I check the specs of gel cells, does not seem to be the case that they can be left o float for years at a time.

While LiFePO4s self-discharge pretty slowly they degrade a bit when held at 100%. During hurricane season I keep mine charged at 80% (and charge them to 100% before a storm). Out of season, I keep them at 60%. This is because of the thread SoC degradation of LiFePO4. Even without that, they'd last 1000s of cycles so it's probably a bit silly. Keep in mind most BMSes need 100% to work (I periodically boost mine).

Lead loves to be at 100% and is therefore great for emergency backup. But, it has to be pretty much be kept on a trickle charger because they self discharge much faster and that one time it gets low for a couple of months pretty much destroys it.