diy solar

diy solar

Using what you have is better than doing nothing

Bob142

Build more, learn more.
I decided I might as well share this as an example of how my designs and reality don't always intersect...

I had been procrastinating for many months building an enclosure for 8 EVE 280Ah cells I got from @Michael B Caro's group buy. These were to replace my ancient Trojan AGMS in my 24V cart based system. Well there's nothing like an impending hurricane to get some giddy up in me. So when Henri was barreling down on RI (it turned out to be a non-event where I live) I decided I would rather have my EVE cells deployed however I could rather than kick myself for having them as expensive paper weights.

A couple weeks prior to the storm I grabbed a produce crate that someone was discarding. I had no plan other than I seem to be a crate nut and couldn't let it go into the trash. Turns out it was the perfect size to make a slap-dash battery enclosure. The night before the storm I went to work fabricating the one long busbar I needed from some leftover copper stock I used in my Yeti 1250 build and put everything into the crate. It turned out to be a good enough solution and one I may just live with for a good long while.

IMG_4129.jpgIMG_4131.jpg

Yes, my incredibly low tech compression is accomplished by some shims. That's right: shims...

That's an Overkill Solar 8S BMS in there as well.

Very nice, anything in a storm......native Alaskan here, we didn't have hurricanes but we did have some doozies of winter storms

I would like a user review on that Samlex 2425 sitting there.....been drooling for one of those for a while now.
Pfc corrected as i remember

I would like a user review on that Samlex 2425 sitting there.....been drooling for one of those for a while now.
Pfc corrected as i remember
It's been doing a good job for me for my AGMs for a long while now. I'm going to use it for the LFP bank for a bit and see how it does.