diy solar

diy solar

VERY small off grid solar system do I need to use a breaker/fuse?

John117

Hello, I did my very own off grid tiny system in my home (thanks to this forum that helped, by the way) everything works fine, but lately I wonder if I needed to add a fuse/breaker to this system. My system is solely with the intention to power path lights outside my home and I think the charge controller has a fuse right?

Solar Panel is 50w - 12v.
Cable is 10 AWG pure copper low voltage landscape wire.
Charge controller is a Victron Smart Solar 75-10
Battery is a 12v LifePo4 20ah.
Load is 8 lights, each one takes 3w.

I might upgrade to a 30ah and 100w panel in the future if I add more lights. My question is, do I need a breaker/fuse for this? And if so, where and how big? Thank you in advance. I am still learning, so it is hard to understand this.

Your 8 lights is dc 12V input ?or ac 110V input,I have not seen an inverter in your system

At the least a fuse between the battery and the lights, just in case something gets too wet underground. Definitely go with a bigger panel, a 30Ah battery would need 5 hours of perfect sun every day on a 100w panel to recharge from empty and you've only got about (24w lights * 14hrs darkness = 336Wh of battery / 14v =) 24Ah of battery used - BMS overhead. You're rrriiiggghhhttt on that line of making it in a good summer day, but in winter you'll be hosed.

Should use a breaker or more realistically a fuse in-line with the battery positive terminal. You add a fuse/breaker to protect the wire from over-current, so they don't melt down and start a fire. Maybe just a 3amp, or 5amp at most. The fuse in the Victron will only possibly protect the Victron, maybe. But it won't protect the load from the battery to the lights.