diy solar

diy solar

Victron SmartShunt / Home Assistant integration

Like I said I have no experience with SolarAssistant so I could not tell you if it will work together or not. All I can say is what I have done on my own setup to get the data into HA.

There is indeed a big learning curve to master Home Assistant...I have had it running for about 5 years now but only did really basic stuff until a few months ago when I started with Zigbee smart lights....but that's another story. In short I would say that the learning curve is worth it! But try to find the simplest solution for your problem. If there is a plugin already for something...use that instead for example. But for Victron solar equipment there is nothing (yet) so we kind of have to right now.

I am assuming by "slim client" you are actually talking about "Thin Clients" right? That could be a better alternative to a raspberry Pi...but the biggest issue from what I have heard is cheap SD cards. And I would recommend NOT running Home Assistant on a Rpi on an SD card! It need to write A LOT to it's internal event database and that would wear out the SD card. That's why the cheap cards get corrupted easily and the system crashes. There are options to connect SSD's over USB and boot from it. I am running home assistant in docker on a basic intel NUC with a SSD. It's not super powerful but better than a raspberry pi with SD card