Wanted to purchase another Growatt SPF5000ES but my vendor says it is no longer compatible with Pylontech US 3000 batteries

Spanish Flyer

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
12
Dear friends, I have a generous photovoltaic home system that includes 52 panels , three inverters, one of which is a Growatt SPF5000ES; this inverter is connected to 3 Pylontech US3000 batteries.

The whole system is running perfectly well and have had no problems whatsoever.

For your information only 8 X 450W solar panels from the total of 52 panels feed the Growatt SPF5000ES right now; the three Pylontech US3000 batteries are connected to my Growatt SPF5000ES

I now wanted to purchase another Growatt SPF5000ES and one new Pylontech battery. Problem is that "according to my supplier" here in Spain, Growatt no longer supports Pylontech 48V 100A batteries.... Is that a fact and if so, what can I do?
Best regards.
Spanish FlyerSOLAR PLANT s.jpg
 

Attachments

  • ULTIMOS 6 PANELES DJI_0169 sky sNSEW.jpg
    ULTIMOS 6 PANELES DJI_0169 sky sNSEW.jpg
    815.4 KB · Views: 16

timselectric

If I can do it, you can do it.
Joined
Feb 5, 2022
Messages
4,924
I don't know why that would be the case.
But if so, you can just set everything manually without communications.
 

skylink

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
39
Dear friends, I have a generous photovoltaic home system that includes 52 panels , three inverters, one of which is a Growatt SPF5000ES; this inverter is connected to 3 Pylontech US3000 batteries.

The whole system is running perfectly well and have had no problems whatsoever.

For your information only 8 X 450W solar panels from the total of 52 panels feed the Growatt SPF5000ES right now; the three Pylontech US3000 batteries are connected to my Growatt SPF5000ES

I now wanted to purchase another Growatt SPF5000ES and one new Pylontech battery. Problem is that "according to my supplier" here in Spain, Growatt no longer supports Pylontech 48V 100A batteries.... Is that a fact and if so, what can I do?
Best regards.
Spanish FlyerView attachment 99725
What I would like to know is what is the problem between Growatt and Pylontech? And what has Growatt had to say? I would like to see what statement Growatt has put out re the Pylontech, Reason for asking Is I have the same Inverter and the US3000C, running well for 18 months and then the Battery BMS board failed, Pylontech puts the blame on the inverter, Growatt puts the blame on Pylontech, But let me make it clear that Pylontech page 3 of the manual point 2&9 about all the protections they do not exist and the 10-year warranty is not worth the paper it's printed on,I have been charged $300 and much aggravation with a failed BMS Board on the US3000C and they will not honor their Warranty and say its not their problem, so I would stay away from Pylontech, will never use the product ever again, the Protection they talk of is non existent
 

Spanish Flyer

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2020
Messages
12
This I received a moment ago from Growatt themselves....

"Hello,

We support only our own batteries, given the fact that we had a lot of communcation problems between the batteries and the inverters. If you want to use pylontech batteries and you have any problem we wont be able to give you support, as we will never know if the problem is with the batteries or with the inverter.

Thanks a lot."

I guess this does not only mean the Growatt SPF5000ES, but all Growatt inverters.... Wonder what will happen to those like me who bought both Growatt and Pylontech when all was fine and compatible if we ever have a failure and make a warranty claim

Growatt New Energy
Hessenring 83
61348 Bad Homburg, Germany
 

skylink

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
39
What I would like to know is what is the problem between Growatt and Pylontech? And what has Growatt had to say? I would like to see what statement Growatt has put out re the Pylontech, Reason for asking Is I have the same Inverter and the US3000C, running well for 18 months and then the Battery BMS board failed, Pylontech puts the blame on the inverter, Growatt puts the blame on Pylontech, But let me make it clear that Pylontech page 3 of the manual point 2&9 about all the protections they do not exist and the 10-year warranty is not worth the paper it's printed on,I have been charged $300 and much aggravation with a failed BMS Board on the US3000C and they will not honor their Warranty and say its not their problem, so I would stay away from Pylontech, will never use the product ever again, the Protection they talk of is non existent
That's why I say "Warning Pylontech 10-Year Warranty is not worth the paper it's written on, and all the Protection they refer to in the manual does not protect the battery, Beware people".

Maybe the better choice is Dyness they happy.

 
Last edited:

Hubert Franz

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2022
Messages
3
Dear friends, I have a generous photovoltaic home system that includes 52 panels , three inverters, one of which is a Growatt SPF5000ES; this inverter is connected to 3 Pylontech US3000 batteries.

The whole system is running perfectly well and have had no problems whatsoever.

For your information only 8 X 450W solar panels from the total of 52 panels feed the Growatt SPF5000ES right now; the three Pylontech US3000 batteries are connected to my Growatt SPF5000ES

I now wanted to purchase another Growatt SPF5000ES and one new Pylontech battery. Problem is that "according to my supplier" here in Spain, Growatt no longer supports Pylontech 48V 100A batteries.... Is that a fact and if so, what can I do?
Best regards.
Spanish FlyerView attachment 99725
I recently connected a SPF5000 ES to Pylontech US2000 C batteries and initially selected US2 in setting 005 because the communication with the Pylontech BMS did not work.
Yesterday I then found a tutorial in German that worked after all:


It says:
Switch off the intverter and the batteries. Plug the cable supplied with the Pylontechs with its battery connector (note the tag on the cable) to the master of the Pylontechs to the CAN connector, then plug the inverter side of the cable to the BMS connector of the inverter. Power up batteries and inverter again and select LI in 005 and then L52 in 036. (If this does not work, the instructions also recommend trying L51 or L53 in 036) This setting (L52) worked for me and apparently it works flawlessly.

Maybe this setting also works for you.

The firmware version of my inverter attached.
 

Attachments

  • growatt-firmware-version.jpg
    growatt-firmware-version.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 5

skylink

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
39
I recently connected a SPF5000 ES to Pylontech US2000 C batteries and initially selected US2 in setting 005 because the communication with the Pylontech BMS did not work.
Yesterday I then found a tutorial in German that worked after all:


It says:
Switch off the intverter and the batteries. Plug the cable supplied with the Pylontechs with its battery connector (note the tag on the cable) to the master of the Pylontechs to the CAN connector, then plug the inverter side of the cable to the BMS connector of the inverter. Power up batteries and inverter again and select LI in 005 and then L52 in 036. (If this does not work, the instructions also recommend trying L51 or L53 in 036) This setting (L52) worked for me and apparently it works flawlessly.

Maybe this setting also works for you.

The firmware version of my inverter attached.
I do not think the German fellow was talking about the SPF5000ES as the ES has a CAN port and those settings work CAN to CAN but not BMS to CAN so its LI and L52 and start the unit on battery and wait a few seconds for the 04 error and whatever else comes up to go away , and then turn on power/solar
 

skylink

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2022
Messages
39
I am serious about the SPF500 ES. This is the inverter that I have running and with which the setting I described works.
See the instruction manual page 8 at the bottom:
The protocol number in setting 036 determines whether RS485 or CAN protocol is used. And the input is always the BMS connector.
s I see what's going on here now, Growatt cannot decide what to label the plugs they at one stage had RS485/BMS and CAN so that being that BMS was the RS485, however in that PDF from the German fellow they call the CAN the BMS and then have RS485. Now on your inverter what are the two plugs labeled as? I wish these guys would just name things what they are.
 

Attachments

  • 20220724_083607.jpg
    20220724_083607.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 2
Last edited:

Hubert Franz

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2022
Messages
3
s I see what's going on here now, Growatt cannot decide what to label the plugs they at one stage had RS485/BMS and CAN so that being that BMS was the RS485, however in that PDF from the German fellow they call the CAN the BMS and then have RS485. Now on your inverter what are the two plugs labeled as? I wish these guys would just name things what they are.
On my inverter, it is labeled this way:
 

Attachments

  • inverter-unten.jpg
    inverter-unten.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 3
Top