diy solar

diy solar

Watchpower, recorded data values question

berniej

I've just installed a combined 3kW 24V solar controller/inverter that I bought from Amazon. It has an LCD config screen and RS232 data i/f.
Seems kind of generic. No software came with it despite reference to a CD so I went hunting and found Watchpower 1.14 (I'm quite new to this).

Installed and connected OK and yesterday I grabbed a day of data, exported to Excel and took a look.

My objective is to end up with an answer to 'so how much am I saving' by determining what % of the load is provided by solar/battery compared with how it would be if I were running straight from my 240V main. ( Feb in UK, the answer will likely be "not much" but hey-ho )

I haven't worked that bit out yet but was puzzzled by why the "PV input power" column is always zero when I would guess it should be the product of the V and A.
Also, the "Battery capacity" values don't look sensible, particularly when switching to line mode and increasing to 100% in a few minutes which can't be right.

Are these just bugs/features/limitations of Watchpower or have I missed something please?
Also, are there any other similar programs/apps that might be better? I'm currently using RS232 but have a RS232->WiFi adapter on order to hopefuly network-enable.

Many thanks for any thoughts.

Regards,
Bernie (UK)

Solar1.PNG

A few questions:

first, can you link to the Amazon listing for the inverter? There are only a handful of OEM manufacturers (Voltronic, SRNE, etc) which can often be identified from the specifications, with each such base model having its own quirks. Your reference to “Watchpower” didn’t click with me initially- that’s a Voltronic app.

Second- what battery chemistry are you using- lead, LFP, etc? And what are your inverter Output Priority, Charge Priority, and Battery Type settings?