diy solar

diy solar

Water heating. PV panels or their water filled cousins for heating tanks in the loft.

David in the UK

Hi all, newbie here with plenty of questions and in need of some advise and guidance.
I live in the London region of the UK and currently have on the house 19 solar panels (7kw) which charge 4kw batteries and also provide some power to the mains, this is all fine. I have an additional clear area on the roof of approx 4 feet (1.2 m) x 23 feet (7m) which faces the sun (southfacing tiled roof, about 35- 40 degree pitch) and would like to use this area solely for heating water.

My questions given the area, how does solar PV compare with water filled panels in terms of efficiency, cost and installation issues? Plus any other issues I've not thought of?

My intention is to heat one or 2 tanks in the loft quite close to the panel location with a total capacity of about 100 gallons. So whether it is heated by an immersion element or 2 (powered from PV panels) or heated by solar water filled panels is the choice to be made. What would be the best decision?

Our water heating currently is just using electricity and has been like this for the last 50+ years as the house had a gas fired warm air unit installed. I have got a replacement warm air unit I'll be installing shortly that has a built in water heater that can also be plumbed into these water tank(s) but is only about 3.3Kw so not hugely powerful on it's own.

Any other considerations or issues?

I would go with panels for several reasons.
You don’t have to worry about servicing calcification build up in the solar water heater panels pipes.
Which would not be easy to get cleaned out on a roof.
Secondly you have the ability to use the grid to run the heater if the weather is bad and lastly extra pv power could be used for running more things in the house.