diy solar

diy solar

What breaker size do I need for the battery bank between and inverter. MPP LV 5048 I think the battery cable size is 1/0.

lllaible

What breaker size do I need for the battery bank between and inverter. MPP LV 5048 I think the battery cable size is 1/0. I'm starting out small with 4 100 amp solar panels and 4 200 amp sealed lead acid batteries.

i am an electrician and not a solar expert. breakers and fuses are to keep the equipment and WIRE from overcurrent. size the fuse or
breaker for the 1/0 wire and you will keep it from overcurrent. you could go lower if you wanted to protect other devices down the line.
if you understand what i mean you can fuse it for the max rated cont. output of the inverter and it should be far less than the max wire rating.

Watts ÷ volts x 1.2 = fuse size in amps required as a general rule. I found this on the internet so 5000 watt ÷ 48v x 1.2 should give me 125 amp breaker is this correct? The 1/0 wire will be 5ft or a little.

Last edited:
5000 ac watts / .85 conversion efficiency / 48 volts = ~122 dc amps
~122 dc amps * 1.25 fuse headroom = ~153 fuse amps
You want a quality 150 amp fuse or breaker minimum
With pure copper 1/0 awg wire with insulation rated to 105 celcius the upper limit for the fuse is ~285 amps.

Thank you Smooth. I'm new at this and I'm clueless so a quality breaker min 150 amp-285 amps is this correct?

Thank you Smooth. I'm new at this and I'm clueless so a quality breaker min 150 amp-285 amps is this correct?
Yes
The 285 amps is dependent of the wire spec I defined above.
Personally I would not go that high.
I don't wan't my wires getting that hot even if they are rated for it.

I think I will order a 200 amp breaker that is in the middle of what you stated. Thanks for answering my question and have a great day.

Does anyone make a quality 200A DC breaker? I can't seem to find anything other than the Bussman automotive breakers... And It looks like Midnite doesnt make a 200A breaker...