diy solar

diy solar

What cells to buy for large 24v 2000ah RV battery bank?

josbo26

Hi,
I am looking for some advice for a battery bank I hope to build this summer. I am in the process of converting a city bus into an rv and I am planning on putting a large lifepo4 bank in. I am looking to boondock most of the time and would like to build a bank to exceed my power needs.

I am currently looking to build a 24v battery bank of 2000ah. I have plenty of space and I just want to be prepared. My question is when building my battery do I go with larger cells like some 500ah cells I have found or do I go with lots and lots of 100ah-200ah cells that are more plentiful and much cheaper? With either option how would you configure the cells?

I am pretty new to this so any advice is much appreciated.
Thanks!

getting into the nighmare of having hundreth of busbar and screws and BMS and fuse is not very appealing especially in a mobile system, with all the vibrations.
with 100A cell, 24V is 8 cells, so for 2000A, you need 20x8 cells = 160 cells, wow ! means 320 srcrews.
so, getting big cells (300A and more) , should be easier and cheaper (good copper bus bar are not free)
the only question is how do you will recharge this huge quantity of energy ?
you will need at least 10.000W of solar panels (30x 300W huge panels), and roof space is limited on a bus and you will hardly get 10 of them mounted.
perhaps you should start first with 1000A and check if you can fit the power bill in.
Getting 2 batteries of 1000A with each its own inverter is better than getting one of 2000A

Last edited:
I'm curious what is driving you to build such a large battery bank? 50,000+ Wh is massive (especially for a mobile system), and like others have noted it will be very difficult to charge a bank this size.