diy solar

diy solar

What happens to excess power produced by panels after batteries are full?

Spoonathan

Hi there. Super noob here. I just got my first solar system set up and I had a question about where my excess power is going. I looked around the forum and couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for so if anyone could answer my question in layman's terms I would be very grateful.

My panels were producing about 1000w and they charged my battery bank to full in no time at all. When my batteries reached full, my BMS enabled over-voltage protection and disabled them from being charged any further. So far so good? Anyway, I’m now left with my panels still producing 1000w of power and it has nowhere to go. The bms won’t allow it into my battery bank, so does that mean it’s all getting pumped directly into my SCC? If so, is that going to somehow damage my SCC? Is it getting burned off as heat?

I just can’t quite wrap my head around this. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

It just opens the circuit like unhooking a wire off of a battery. The voltage is still there but not used.

Power is pulled by things that need it, not pushed by things that provide it. Your solar panels are not pushing 1000W into the SCC when unneeded. The SCC stops taking power from the panels no matter how much sun there is.

It's like all of the outlets in your house. Electricity isn't being pushed out of unused outlets.

Nothing is being damaged in any way if you are not making use of any potential solar power.

When my batteries reached full, my BMS enabled over-voltage protection and disabled them from being charged any further.