diy solar

diy solar

What the CCA test can tell about deep cycle batteries?

ldsfreire

Hello DIY Solar community! This is my first post over here and I appreciate the opportunity to talk with all of you.

I'm a marine electrician, and I am willing to learn a little bit more about lead acid batteries.
I have some more solid background when it comes to lithium, but well, almost 100% of the service bank batteries, at least here in Brazil still using the lead acid technology.

A lot of times people ask me in the first evaluation of the boat the State of Health (SOH) of their battery banks. As a simple as it is, for the cranking side of the system I use a Conductance Battery Tester, and it tells me a lot of useful information. Battery Voltage, SOH, SOC, alternator ripple voltage, and etc.

But when it comes to the deep cycle side of the system (service bank) it isn't that obvious. CCA information is not normally shown on the deep cycle batteries, with only a few exceptions, so I have some CCA tests of deep cycle battery models that are mostly found on the boats over here, and I use this as comparison to give a shallow idea of the SOH of the batteries (Probably good, regular, and need to be replaced).

But the truth is what does it actually tell me about the SOH of the batteries? CCA can tell me how much instantaneous current I could demand from the battery, but for sure it isn't a good method to tell for how long the batteries could stand If I apply some continuous current.