diy solar

diy solar

Which power inverter to buy? Newbie here!

Vafarmer

Hello to all,
I’m looking to go full solar but, I’m trying to learn all the basics first. Then, move on from there.

I just purchased
-100watt Renogy starter kit.
-2 Exide 24MDC deep cycle battery
-looking to power a barn. In the future. Not powering all this at first but, want to power this stuff when I get more solar panels and batteries.
2- 6 watt bulbs
1 mini fridge(beer)
1 chicken waterer warmer (60 watt)
2 15 watt fans in chicken coop
I’m on a tight budget right now and want to get started on slowly.
What is the most powerful modified sound wave power inverter for under $100 bucks to get me started?
Thanks for any help in this journey to get off the grid!

Last edited:
Yeah, I did think the price was low for the wattage. But, hoping it’ll be good enough to get my feet wet and get started.

I ordered a 400watt pure sine wave at first to get started but, 400 watts wouldn’t even get my mini fridge running. That inverter crapped out in 2 days

You are already setting yourself up for failure. I can immediately tell you that what you are putting together is totally inadequate, and it's wasted money.

First, your batteries are ~65Ah each? That means 130Ah total. What's optimal for charging is (130Ah/8) X 13V charging X 1.175fudgefactor = 248W. So, a 250W panel instead of one 100W panel.

In the middle of summer, you are not likely to get more then 5 sunhours per day, so 100W X 5 sunhours = 500Wh of power total. Most inverters in the price range you are looking at consume about 2A of power, so just leaving the inverted turned on with no load consumes 2A X 12V X 24hr = 576Wh of power. Add things like a frig on top of that, and you will never keep your batteries charged. They will die a quick death from sulfination. In winter, it might not last three days.

A modified sine-wave inverter is most likely going to damage the motor on the mini-frig.