diy solar

diy solar

Who's rocking a tower?

D

Deleted member 783

I have a chance to buy a 60' tower for $300. The top is set up for a turbine. I'm not sold on wind power, but holy crap do I want a 60' tower in my yard. How would I erect it though? It's in 10' sections and has a hinge at the bottom. It's heavy duty. I'm thinking that 60' is excessive and maybe I'd just bury the first section in concrete for a stable base. They I guess I'd have to lift up one section at a time. Anyone done this? Please post pics if you have! PS-I have no code issues where I live. No permitting, etc.

Im no expert but i think 60' is too short from what I've read. You want about double that ideally.

Yeah, that ain't happening. I doubt I'll end up using all the sections to get to 60. I don't really care about wind. Mostly I just want a tower, for the same reason I once bought a fire truck. If you have to ask, you won't get it!

Lifting is easy after you get the first part in, Rohn is the leader in them and makes most. It rents a little arm the bolts to the first section and you raise the next section. search youtube or just check out the Rohn catalog.

DO NOT TRUST any of the controllers that come with the sub 600watt airx clones. You will want to get a KID controller. I have had a china airx clone destroy it's self when battery disconnected from it....wind NEEDS a dump load. any design that uses power to brake/slow can be a problem....

Ahhhh this is the wisdom I was hoping for! I believe it is a Rohn. I will search!

I found the "erection fixture" (stifiling myself) and it's $900!! Guess I'll be rednecking it! It is indeed a Rohn 25G, and I just agreed to buy it for $250. It's missing the base plate, so I think I'll drop the first 10 feet into about 6 feet of concrete and start from there. I'm going to erect it right next to my cabin, so it will be anchored to the building at about 12'.